(888) 528-8367 (619) 528-8434

Parental Leave Mandate for Small Business Passes — Effective January 1, 2018

October 30th, 2017

SB 68 – New Parent Leave Act Signed – This bill will require 12 weeks of job-protected maternity and paternity leave for smaller companies with 20 to 49 employees. Under current law, only those who work for an employer of 50 or more are eligible for job-protected leave. SB 63 will take effect January 1, 2018.

Read the complete article here:  http://hrwatchdog.calchamber.com/2017/09/parental-leave-mandate-passes/

Labor Commissioner Fines Contractor for Wage Theft of Subcontractor – Calchamber Alert

July 20th, 2017

calchamberalert.com

For the first time, the Labor Commissioner has held a general contractor responsible for wage theft by its subcontractor by issuing citations under AB 1897 (Section 2810.3 of the Labor Code), which took effect on January 1, 2015. The Labor… CLICK HERE FOR THE FULL ARTICLE 

CA Employers Must Provide Written Notice of Right to Take Domestic Violence Leave – Lexology

September 27th, 2016

california

On September 14, 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed AB 2377 into law which expands the employer notice requirements regarding domestic violence…

Click for FULL ARTICLE

Source:  Lexology.com

Governor Signs CalChamber-Supported Gender Equity Pay Bill

October 7th, 2015

A CaliWe_Can_Do_It!fornia Chamber of Commerce-supported bill that seeks to eliminate pay disparity based on gender was signed by Governor Edmund G. Brown Jr. yesterday.

SB 358 (Jackson; D-Santa Barbara) which received overwhelming support in both houses as it moved through the legislature, will ensure that women are paid equally for work that is substantially similar to the work of their male colleagues, and are not retaliated against if they discuss or ask how much their male colleagues are paid.

To read the complete article on CalChamber’s website, CLICK HERE. 


 

Higher Minimum Wage Wins with Big Support in San Francisco and Oakland

November 7th, 2014

San Francisco residents voted on November 3rd to slowly increase the hourly minimum wage to $15.  Oakland will increase the minimum wage to $12.25 starting next March.  To read the full story, CLICK HERE.

minimum-wage

IRS closes ACA minimum value health plan loophole

November 6th, 2014

IRS-BuildingThe Internal Revenue Service, in a surprise move Tuesday, said it will not qualify employer-sponsored health plans that fail to cover inpatient hospitalization as meeting the minimum value health plan standard under the Affordable Care Act.  See how this could affect you or your employer clients.

To read the complete article, CLICK HERE.

Notification of Increase Announced by the California Department of Insurance

December 20th, 2013

Earlier this week, the California Department of Insurance announced a fee increase by 10%.  To review the bulletin and fee schedule, click on the link below.

CalChamber Releases List of New Employment Laws Affecting Businesses in 2014

November 6th, 2013

2014The California Chamber of Commerce released a list of new employment laws scheduled to take effect in 2014 (or earlier) that will have an impact on businesses in California.  The new laws will change areas such as:

* Wage & Hour
* Discrimination & Retaliation Protections
* Driver’s License for Undocumented Immigrants
* Leave & Benefits
* Workers’ Compensation

CLICK HERE to read on about the upcoming law changes.

CA Resident Ethics Training Requirement

October 30th, 2013

Beginning January 1, 2014 CA Resident Licensed Agents & Brokers will be required to complete 3 hours (not 4) of Ethics Training Every 2 Year License Term

As a California non-resident licensee, the Ethics Training requirement does not apply to you.  However, you are required to complete the continuing education course requirements of your home state.

For those of you who are California resident licensees, you may be interested in reading this important notice.

CLICK HERE to review the notice regarding the Ethics Training Requirement.

ethics

Use Caution When Giving Out Personal Information for the Upcoming Healthcare Reform

September 26th, 2013

CA DOI Taking Proactive Enforcement Steps to Protect Consumers with Rollout of Healthcare Reform

Sacramento, California (09/24/13) – As the implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) moves forward, and the October 1 launch of the state health benefit exchange (Covered California) nears, Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones is reminding consumers to be vigilant about protecting their personal and financial information and verifying they are using official government websites or working with certified enrollment counselors or licensed health agents when shopping for health insurance coverage.

“We want consumers to know that they can go to… CLICK HERE to read the complete article published by the California Department of Insurance.

Follow us on:
3717 Camino Del Rio South, Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92108
Phone #: (619) 528-8434 -or- (888) 528-8367
Fax #: (619) 528-8498